» FURTHER INFORMATION «

On this page, we provide you with some useful information on how to launch a balloon yourself.


Here you can download a short checklist for your balloon launch that will make things a little easier for your first time:

Download ChecklisteDownload the checklist for launch preparation


Land distribution in Germany
Here we show you the land distribution for Germany. As you can see, the risk of landing in a city or on water is very low. Up until now and without exception, all of our flights landed in fields, meadows or in woods.

Land distribution in Germany


Length of special cords
Ideal length of special cords
The ideal length of the special cords between the weather balloon and the parachute is 5 meters and 10 meters between the parachute and the polystyrene probe. These lengths increase the probability of easy recovery if the probe should land in a tree. We do not recommend using longer cords since this can have an effect on the flight stability.


Predicting the flight path
With this practical tool, it is possible to make an accurate prediction of the flight path on the day of the launch. You only need to enter your launch coordinates in the system an the flight path is calculated after taking the current weather conditions into consideration. This makes it possible for you to drive in the direction of your probe after launching and you then don’t need to wait for the exact landing coordinates from the GPS tracker.


How much helium do I need for my weather balloon?

For this, you need to weigh the entire construction including all of the equipments and the weather balloon. You then enter the overall weight of the construction (payload) and the weight of the balloon into the fields. Our helium calculator will then state the amount of helium required for filling the weather balloon! The calculated quantity enables your probe to climb at a speed of approximately 4-6 meters per second!

Attention: please be aware that some helium can escape during filling and the therefore it is necessary to automatically increase the amount of helium required!

Helium calculator
Weight of balloon (in g):
Weight of payload (in g):
Bottle size
The formula for calculating the helium is as follows:
Helium quantity = weight of payload + weight of the balloon + positive climb speed
From experience, 1/2 of the payload should be entered for "positive climb speed". The result of the calculation is then the quantity of helium in liters.

» WEITERFÜHRENDE INFORMATIONEN «

Auf dieser Seite bieten wir Ihnen ein paar nützliche Informationen an, wenn Sie selbst einen Wetterballon-Start durchführen möchten:


Flächennutzung von Deutschland
Hier zeigen wir Ihnen die Flächennutzung von Deutschland. Wie Sie sehen, ist das Risiko in einer Stadt oder auf dem Wasser zu landen äußerst gering. Bei allen unseren Flügen sind wir bis jetzt immer auf Feldern, Wiesen oder im Wald gelandet.

Fläche Deutschland


laenge_schnur
Optimale Länge der Spezialschnüre
Die optimale Länge der Spezialschnur zwischen Wetterballon und Fallschirm beträgt 5 Meter, zwischen dem Fallschirm und der Styroporsonde 10 Meter. Durch diese Abstände erhöht sich die Wahrscheinlichkeit einer einfachen Bergung, wenn die Sonde einmal in einem Baum landen sollte. Von der Wahl größerer Abstände raten wir ab, da dies u.a. Auswirkungen auf die Flugstabilität hat.


Flugroute vorausberechnen
Mit diesem praktischen Tool Flugroutenvorausberechnung könnt Ihr schon am Starttag eine recht genaue Flugroute vorrausberechnen lassen. Ihr müsst bloß eure Startkoordinaten in das System eingeben und dann wird euch unter Berücksichtigung der aktuellen Wetterlage eine verlässliche Flugroute vorrausberechnet. So könnt Ihr schon kurz nach dem Start in die Flugrichtung eurer Sonde fahren und müsst nicht auf die genauen Landekoordinaten des GPS-Trackers warten.


Wie viel Helium muss ich in meinen Wetterballon füllen?

Dazu müssen Sie Ihre gesamte Konstruktion inkl. des kompletten Equipments und den Wetterballon wiegen. Das Gesamtgewicht der Konstruktion (Traglast) und das Gewicht des Ballons tippen Sie dann in die Felder ein. Unser Heliumrechner nennt Ihnen dann die Menge an Helium, die Sie in den Wetterballon füllen sollten! Mit der berechneten Menge hat Ihre Sonde dann einen Auftrieb von etwa 4-6 Metern pro Sekunde!

Achtung: Bedenken Sie bitte, dass beim Befüllen etwas Helium entweichen kann und somit automatisch mehr Helium hineingefüllt werden muss!

Helium-Rechner
Ballongewicht (in g):
Traglast (in g):
Flaschengröße
Die Formel des Helium-Rechners sieht wie folgt aus:
Heliummenge = Gewicht Traglast + Gewicht Ballon + Positive Auftriebskraft
Für die "Positive Auftriebskraft" nehmen wir erfahrungsgemäß 1/2 der Traglast. Das Ergebnis der Rechnung ist dann die Menge an Helium in Litern.